Cortelyou Library

Open today from 10 am - 5 pm.

Hours

Monday 10 am - 6 pm
Tuesday 1 pm - 8 pm
Wednesday 10 am - 6 pm
Thursday 10 am - 8 pm
Friday 10 am - 6 pm
Saturday 10 am - 5 pm
Sunday CLOSED

Address & Contact

1305 Cortelyou Rd. at Argyle Rd.
Brooklyn, NY 11226 Get Directions

Fully accessible

718.693.7763

Managing Librarian

Amenities


Planning for Cortelyou Library began in 1969, but it was not until 1983, after years of patience and hard work by Flatbush residents, that construction was completed and the branch opened. In 2021, the Friends of Cortelyou Library raised over $40,000 to enhance the branch with a revised layout, new reading tables and chairs, new furniture in the children’s area and a teen area. This work happened alongside a New York State-funded project to replace the main room’s shelves, lighting and flooring. 

Cortelyou has a distinctive, welcoming entry, as well as a mural of bright blue triangles that wrap around the building. Cortelyou Library celebrates its community's creativity and professionalism by showcasing Pakistani music, Bengali fiction, Russian poetry and West Indian novels.

Friends of Cortelyou Library

Friends of Cortelyou Library is a group of organized volunteers who help our neighborhood library through advocacy, fundraising and promotion. If you are interested in becoming a Friend of Cortelyou Library, ask a staff member for details or email [email protected] for more information.

 

Ready Set Kindergarten Saturday Series…

Sat, Mar 2 11:00am
Cortelyou Library

Choo Choo Train Time

Mon, Mar 4 10:15am
Cortelyou Library

Choo Choo Train Time

Mon, Mar 4 10:15am
Cortelyou Library

English Conversation Group - Cortelyou

Mon, Mar 4 10:30am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Resume & Career Help

Tue, Mar 5 5:30pm
Cortelyou Library

Crochet & Knitting

Wed, Mar 6 2:00pm
Cortelyou Library

Toddler Time

Thu, Mar 7 11:00am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Toddler Time

Fri, Mar 8 11:00am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Game On

Fri, Mar 8 4:00pm
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Ready Set Kindergarten Saturday Series…

Sat, Mar 9 11:00am
Cortelyou Library

Choo Choo Train Time

Mon, Mar 11 10:15am
Cortelyou Library

Choo Choo Train Time

Mon, Mar 11 10:15am
Cortelyou Library

English Conversation Group - Cortelyou

Mon, Mar 11 10:30am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Resume & Career Help

Tue, Mar 12 5:30pm
Cortelyou Library

Crochet & Knitting

Wed, Mar 13 2:00pm
Cortelyou Library

Toddler Time

Thu, Mar 14 11:00am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Toddler Time

Fri, Mar 15 11:00am
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Game On

Fri, Mar 15 4:00pm
Cortelyou, Meeting Room

Ready Set Kindergarten Saturday Series…

Sat, Mar 16 11:00am
Cortelyou Library

Choo Choo Train Time

Mon, Mar 18 10:15am
Cortelyou Library

Follow Cortelyou Library on Facebook!
Follow Us