Leonard Library

Leonard Library is currently closed for renovations and will reopen in late 2024. 

wooden library wagon with shelves

In the meantime, you can visit Leonard staff around the neighborhood! Meet Nellie the book wagon, check out books, get a library card and more. View the events calendar or our Facebook page to find out where we'll be next.

 


Hours

Closed

Address & Contact

81 Devoe St. at Leonard St.
Brooklyn, NY 11211 Get Directions

Partially accessible

GL

B24B48B62Q54

718.486.6006

Managing Librarian
Lauren Comito

Amenities


Leonard Library is one of BPL's original Carnegie branches and is the iconic library visited by Francie in Betty Smith’s beloved book, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn. In 2008, Brooklyn Public Library staff joined Smith’s family and the NYC Parks Department to plant a tree in the author’s memory outside of the branch. Located one block from busy Metropolitan Avenue and situated on a residential block in Williamsburg, Leonard Library fills an important niche in this lively community, offering popular children's programming such as Story Play on Tuesdays and Jump, Dance and Wiggle on Fridays. 

Friends of Leonard Library

Friends of Leonard Library was founded in 2008 and reconvened in 2015. The group generally meets on the first Saturday of every month at 12pm in the downstairs meeting room of Leonard Library. For more information about activities and joining the group, visit our website.

Pop Up Library at Here BK

Thu, May 30 11:00am
Here BK

Library on Tap @ Talea Williamsburg

Tue, Jun 4 11:00am
Talea Williamsburg

Grab & Go Craft @ Talea: CD Bird…

Tue, Jun 4 11:30am
Pop Up Leonard Library @ Talea

Pop Up Library at Here BK

Thu, Jun 6 11:00am
Here BK

Grab & Go Crafts: A very special…

Tue, Jun 11 11:00am
Pop Up Leonard Library @ Talea

Library on Tap @ Talea Williamsburg

Tue, Jun 11 11:00am
Talea Williamsburg

Pop Up Library at Here BK

Thu, Jun 13 11:00am
Here BK

Cooper Park Senior Center Pop Up Library

Fri, Jun 14 11:00am
Cooper Park Senior Center

Grab & Go Craft: Fairy Garden…

Tue, Jun 18 11:00am
Pop Up Leonard Library @ Talea

Library on Tap @ Talea Williamsburg

Tue, Jun 18 11:00am
Talea Williamsburg

Pop Up Library at Here BK

Thu, Jun 20 11:00am
Here BK

Grab & Go Craft @Talea: Paper fun…

Tue, Jun 25 11:00am
Pop Up Lepnard Library at Talea

Library on Tap @ Talea Williamsburg

Tue, Jun 25 11:00am
Talea Williamsburg

Bookmobile @ Leonard

Wed, Jun 26 11:00am
Leonard Library

Pop Up Library at Here BK

Thu, Jun 27 11:00am
Here BK

Grab & Go Craft @ TALeA: Practice…

Tue, Jul 9 11:00am
Pop Up leonard Library @ TALeA

Grab & Go Craft-STEAM @ Talea: Yarn…

Tue, Jul 16 11:30am
Pop Up Library @ Talea

Grab & Go Craft @ Talea: 3-D paper…

Tue, Jul 23 11:15am
Pop Up leonard Library at Talea Williamsburg

Grab & Go Craft @ Talea: Yarn…

Tue, Aug 13 11:30am
Pop Up Library @ Talea

Crab & Go Craft @ Talea: Turtle and…

Tue, Aug 20 11:30am
Pop Up Leonard Library @ Talea