Author Visit & Reading Fun @ Crown Heights

Mon, Sep 26 2022
3:30 pm – 4:30 pm
Crown Heights, Auditorium

author talks Events for Youth and Family kids explore


Illustrator Isabel Roxas and author Sophie N. Lee are very excited to present their latest book Holding On.

A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar’s Coco. There is always singing in Lola’s house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: “If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs.” Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola’s wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.

Come learn about the book and maybe do an activity too!

560 New York Ave. at Maple St.
Brooklyn, NY 11225 Get Directions
Add to My Calendar 09/26/2022 03:30 pm 09/26/2022 04:30 pm America/New_York Author Visit & Reading Fun @ Crown Heights

Illustrator Isabel Roxas and author Sophie N. Lee are very excited to present their latest book Holding On.

A young girl in the Philippines uses music to connect with her grandmother as her memory fades in this warm and moving picture book perfect for fans of Pixar’s Coco. There is always singing in Lola’s house. Sammy Davis Jr. in the morning, Dean Martin in the afternoon, and all throughout the evening, old Tagalog love songs from Nora Aunor, Basil Valdez, and more. Lola always says: “If you want to hold on, you gotta sing your songs.” Her granddaughter tucks these sounds and Lola’s wisdom deep within her heart. And when Lola starts slipping into silence and stillness, she helps Lola hold on, piece by piece, with the joy and music that Lola taught her.

Come learn about the book and maybe do an activity too!

Brooklyn Public Library - Crown Heights, Auditorium MM/DD/YYYY 60