Skip to Main Content

The Brooklyn Public Library, Five Boroughs Music Festival, and On Site Opera present the World Premiere of the Five Borough Songbook, Volume III, fifteen newly commissioned songs by an all-star lineup of composers: Arianne Abela, Raquel Acevedo Klein, Kinan Azmeh, Colin Britt, Majel Connery, Laura Jobin-Acosta, Will Healy, Brian Lawlor, Jessica Meyer, Angélica Negrón, Nkeiru Okoye, Juri Seo, Aaron Siegel, Darian Thomas, and Jonathan Woody. The songs all derive their inspiration from locations scattered throughout New York City – three songs based in each borough – to create a mosaic of the city’s past, present, and future. Commissioned in celebration of 5BMF's 15th anniversary and On Site Opera's 10th anniversary seasons, the Five Borough Songbook, Volume III will be performed by members of Kaleidoscope Vocal Ensemble – soprano Michele Kennedy, mezzo-soprano Cecilia Duarte, tenor Haitham Haidar, and bass-baritone Jonathan Woody – alongside pianist Candace Chien, violinist Pala Garcia, and cellist John Popham.

There will be a pre-concert composer chat at 7:00 pm, and the concert will start at 7:30 pm.

For all indoor BPL Presents programs, guests must provide proof of vaccination and wear masks while onsite at all times. In-person capacity is limited and will be conducted on a first-come, first-served basis.

We are not able to accept negative Covid test results (PCR or rapid antigen tests). In addition, we ask that you conduct a self-assessment before arriving and again onsite to ensure that you are not feeling unwell and have not experienced any symptoms attributable to COVID-19, nor had contact with a person suspected or confirmed to have COVID-19 within the last 10 days. Please also keep a physical distance of six feet from those who are not within your own household whenever possible and remember to wash your hands/use hand sanitizer frequently.

close navigation