All Brooklyn Public Library locations will be closed for Labor Day weekend from Saturday, August 30 through Monday, September 1.
Red Hook Library - Local History & Photos
The Red Hook Branch, which opened on April 22, 1915, was the only one of the Brooklyn Carnegie Libraries built in the Mediterranean Revival Style. The architect, Richard A. Walker accented the interior of the building with decorative wooden staircases leading up to the mezzanine level, pendant light fixtures and clerestory windows.
This architectural gem was forced to close in August of 1946 after having been extensively damaged by a fire the previous year. Sadly, the decision to demolish the unique and gracious building, rather than to restore it, was made soon thereafter.
The Red Hook branch moved into several other buildings over the next few years, but in 1958 settled for a while in rented quarters at 588 Clinton Street. In 1975, the library found its permanent home at 7 Wolcott Street. The March 20 opening of the new 7,500 square- foot one-story brick structure was hosted by then-Mayor Abraham Beame. The library is home to one site of the system's Kid's Connection program, which helps children increase reading, writing and computer literacy skills.
Al Capone got his scar and nickname "scar face" in Red Hook. The Red hook docks offer the best view of Manhattan available in New York City.
Important People from Red Hook Community:
Ray Sharkey (Actor)
Ellen Cleghorne (Broadway actress)
Matty Rich (Movie director and film maker)
James McBride (Author of The Color of Water)
Richard Lewis (Author of Black Cop: The Real Deal)
Wilbert Williams, Jr. M.D. (Author of Dancing in Fire)