Business & Career Library

Business Resources: Real Estate Buying and Selling, Mortgages and Investing

Select Brooklyn Public Library (BPL) locations will be open on Wednesday, December 24 from 9AM-1PM. All BPL locations will be open on Wednesday, December 31 from 9AM-1PM.

 

All BPL locations will be closed on Thursday, December 25, 2014 and Thursday, January 1, 2015.

Books

There are a number of circulating books that help people learn how to buy or sell a home and obtain mortgages. For home sales, start with a book such as The Unofficial Guide to Buying a Home (2nd ed) by Alan Perlis and Beth Bradley. For information on mortgages, try How to Get an Instant Mortgage by Robert Irwin and David L. Ganz. Books on real estate investing include The Everything Real Estate Investing Book by Janet Wickell and Commercial Real Estate Investing by Jack Cummings. See the Library Catalog for more titles.

Many resources in the Library's collection are strictly reference books. Barron's Real Estate Handbook defines more than 2,000 real estate terms, giving information on mortgages and real estate tax laws, and the process of buying and selling residential and commercial properties. Useful dictionaries include Dictionary of Real Estate by Jae K. Shim and Barron's Dictionary of Real Estate Terms. Mortgage Lending by Albert Santi, a reference manual for loan originators and processors, describes different kinds of mortgages. Comparative Statistics of Industrial and Office Real Estate Markets, produced by the Society of Industrial and Office Realtors, contains information on real estate markets by cities. Some of this information involves demographic and industrial statistics. For information on condominiums, see the Condominium Development Guide, Procedures, Analysis, Forms.

Reference materials dealing with real estate investing include the Directory of Real Estate Investors & Buyers. Property and liability insurance are an important component of real estate management. Best's Insurance Reports Property-Casualty is the standard rating source for insurers, and most mortgage providers require that a property be insured by a company with a certain Best's rating. Weiss Ratings Guide to Property and Casualty Insurance Companies rates insurers using several financial indexes.

Periodicals

See also Articles & Databases for electronic access to business-related databases.

Crain's New York Business regularly features articles on New York's real estate industry.

National Real Estate Investor provides surveys and articles, and national lists for leaders in the industry, such as the top brokerages, top property managers and top lenders.

New York Real Estate Journal contains local market information.

New York State Housing Trends, published by the New York Association of Realtors, provides statistics and rankings for real estate in New York State, and information on houses sold in New York State.

The Real Deal focuses on New York's real estate industry but also includes some national coverage. Many articles are available online through the publication's website.

Real Estate Forum contains forecasts and market information.

Websites

Domania
allows the user to search a state or ZIP code for information on prices of home sales, mortgage rates and property taxes.

PropertyShark.com
property research on over 20 million properties.

Compare Interest Rates.com
provides current mortgage interest rates from lenders and brokers nationwide, searchable by state.

Realtor.com
provides information for buyers and sellers. Users can search for homes and condominiums for sale, and apartments for rent. Users can also search for brokers, lenders, and mortgage rates.

The Certified Commercial Investment Member Institute, Cityfeet.com and Loopnet
locate commercial property to buy or lease. Loopnet provides information on appraisal services.

New York University's Real Estate Institute, Jack Brause Library
provides links to subject areas in the real estate industry, including a link to real estate associations.

Real Estate Library
provides resources for, buyers, sellers, lenders, realtors, and homeowners, and real estate professionals.

The Institute of Real Estate Management
is an affiliation of the National Association of Realtors. The Institute of Real Estate Management is a trade association for industry professionals.

New York City Real Estate Public Auctions
provides information on upcoming auctions for NYC real estate as well as terms and guidelines for bidding on and purchasing city property.

National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts
provides a guide to investing in REIT and information on publicly traded real estate investment vehicles, and also includes a list of real estate mutual funds.

TitleVest
provides copies of condominium and cooperative offering plans and other services such as ACRIS and foreclosure searches.

Trulia
provides housing/neighborhood information for Brooklyn, searchable by neighborhood.  Includes crime statistics, schools and demographic data as well as home prices, market trends, properties for sale, etc.