Board of Trustees

Brooklyn Public Library's governing body is the Board of Trustees, consisting of 38 members all serving in non-salaried positions.

The Mayor and the Brooklyn Borough President each appoint 11 trustees. Twelve additional members are elected to serve on the board. The Mayor, City Comptroller, Speaker of the City Council and Brooklyn Borough President are ex-officio members of the board. All trustees, except ex-officio members, serve three-year terms.

Meetings of the Board of Trustees are held at 5:30pm in the Trustees Room, Central Library, unless otherwise noted.

The Committee on Trustees will nominate the following for reelection to the Board at the annual meeting on February 28, 2017:

Peter Aschkenasy

Anthony W. Crowell

Hank Gutman

Kim-Thu Posnett


Brooklyn Public Library Board of Trustees 2016-2017

Peter Aschkenasy - Treasurer

Jordan Barowitz - Vice Chair

Michael Best

Nina Collins - Secretary

Anthony Crowell

Joseph Douek

Roseann Fodera

Blake Foote

Abe George

Nicholas A. Gravante, Jr. - Chair

Hank Gutman

Tim Ingrassia

Miriam Katowitz - Vice Chair

Kyle Kimball

Cindi Leive

Michael Liburd

Susan Marcinek

Gino P. Menchini

Cassandra Metz

Brian O'Neil

Kim-Thu Posnett

Lisa Price

Lisa Puleo

Hon. Alice Fisher Rubin

Sandra Schubert

Robin Shanus - Vice Chair

Christina Tettonis

Dr. Lucille C. Thomas

Patrick Train-Gutierrez

Antonia Yuille Williams

Ex-Officio Members & Designated Representatives

Hon. Bill de Blasio
Mayor of the City of New York
Represented by Rachel Lauter
Hon. Eric Adams
President of the Borough of Brooklyn
Represented by Ingrid Lewis-Martin

Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
Speaker of the New York City Council   
Represented by Reginald D. Shell

Hon. Scott M. Stringer
Comptroller of the City of New York
Represented by Gregory Davidzon 
Articles of Incorporation

Brooklyn Public Library's Conflict of Interest Policy

BYLAWS of Brooklyn Public Library

NYS Merger Legislation